Junior Youth Legislature

28 01 2016

On January 22, twenty-eight Floyd Middle Magnet students participated in the 26th Junior Youth Legislature held at the Alabama State Capitol building where they met with other middle school students from across Alabama. The Floyd students were selected to be in the Senate. They participated in workshops on bill writing and parliamentary procedure in the morning and then debated bills having to do with state laws during the afternoon session. Two of the bills written by Floyd students were debated. Chanice Spicer and Nirea Osborne wrote and presented a bill that would require Alabama to remove the tax on groceries. Jada Burroughs’ and Zaniyah Frazier’s bill would grant paternity to leave for new fathers. After the debate, the Senate voted to pass their bill.

Floyd students were also elected for several offices by the other student senators. Justin An served as Chaplain, Claire Conway as Clerk, Joe Higgins as Floor Leader, and Sherelenthia Brazzley as Pro Temp. Yori Adagunodo, Isabella Baker, Sherelenthia Brazzley, Joe Higgins, Mary Jenkins, and Hannah Thomas were each recognized as an “Outstanding Statesman.”12573118_691989147570947_1197618839717516050_n

Front row from left: Justin An, Kyra Washington, Brianne Therrien, Hailey Lushington, Isabella Baker, Emily Frances Marshall, Mary Jenkins, Jada Burroughs, Harrison Hall, and Yori Adagunodo.

Second row: Nirea Osborne, Chanice Spicer, Emily Willford, Claire Harden, Kerry Anne Straw, Anna Grace Rief, Joe Higgins, Kyle Adams, Lindsey Stewart, Allyson Merriweather, Zaniyah Frazier, Christiana Taylor, and Calvin Clarke.

Third row: Sherlenthia Brazzley, Trey Taylor, Logan Horne, Claire Conway, and Hanah Bloom-Baldwin Middle Magnet.

Not pictured: Hannah Thomas

Sponsors for the group were Mrs. Parks, Mrs. Harrison, and parent Lynn Higgins.



%d bloggers like this: