Alabama Regional Science Olympiad competition

5 03 2018

Great News, Panther Parents!

Floyd Middle Magnet students competed at the University of South Alabama in Mobile on Saturday, March 3, 2018, and the following students placed in their events:

Corwin Nance – 3rd Place (Microbe Mission)

Katherine McKenny – 2nd Place (Solar System)

Aysha Mack & Charlie Lee – 1st Place (Mystery Architecture)

Congratulations to our students!

PTSA Reflections Art Program Winners

14 12 2017
Thank you to all of the students who participated in the PTSA Reflections Art Program.
The winners are:
Amal Abdellaziz
Kolbi Bates
Leia Clark
Katy Deloney
Jeremiah Watson
Lauren Bonikowski
Lama Fariss
Ken Jimmerson
Owen O’Connor
Caitlin Russell
Congratulations to all of our winners!  Their pieces will move on the County Art Contest.  Winners will receive their prizes at the next PTSA meeting.
Thank you!!!!
Mary Bonikowski

Art Teacher
Bear Exploration Center

Science Olympiad

16 03 2017

Ms. Fyffe’s science students competed in the annual North Alabama Regional Science Olympiad at The University of Alabama in Huntsville on March 4, 2017. Twenty middle schools from across the State of Alabama competed in the tournament. Congratulations to Claire Harden and Corwin Nance for placing 5th in the Microbe Mission event and to Ashley Tiblier and Anna Johnson for placing 8th in the Tower event. And, congratulations to the entire team for representing FMMS well.

Science Olympiad 03-2017

Floyd’s Montgomery County PTA Reflections Winners

27 01 2017

Montgomery County PTA Reflections Winners are:

Photography – Erica Luckie, Claire Harden, and Kerry Ann Straw

Visual Arts – Kolbi Bates

Literature – Bailey Lanier, Lauren Bonikowski, and Owen O’Connor

Dance – Kerry Ann Straw

These students’ work was recognized at the County level and will be moving on to compete at the State level. Congratulations and thank you for representing Floyd!

Reflections Winners

9 01 2017

Congratulations to all of our Reflections winners and participants! Our top winner was Kerry Ann Straw who will take home 3 certificates and a check for $85! All of the art will be moving on to the the County competition. Floyd really showed our artistic side! Way to go!The Floyd PTSA Reflections winners are:

Kerry Ann Straw

Owen O’Connor
Lauren Bonikowski
Bailey Lanier

Kerry Ann Straw
Erica Luckie
Hannah Thomas
Claire Harden

Visual Arts
Lauren Bonikowski
Kerry Ann Straw
Owen O’Connor
Mark Boggan
Kolbi Bates

Floyd Middle Magnet School and Floyd PTSA are recognized as a National School of Excellence

18 10 2016

National PTA® has recognized Floyd Middle Magnet School and the school’s PTA as a National PTA School of Excellence for their achievement in building effective family-school partnerships. Research shows that when families and schools work together, student achievement increases, schools improve and communities grow stronger. Being recognized as a National PTA School of Excellence demonstrates the school’s leadership is committed to supporting student success and continuous school improvement. 

“The partnership between Floyd Middle and their PTA is a true example of what can be accomplished when schools and families work together,” said Laura Bay, president of National PTA. “They have put strong practices into place that involve families in the life of the school, and we are pleased to recognize them as a National PTA School of Excellence.”

National PTA launched its School of Excellence program to help strengthen family-school partnerships across the country and make measurable progress in the areas of education, health and safety and arts and cultural exploration. As a National PTA School of Excellence, families at Floyd Middle Magnet School feel welcomed and empowered to support student success, and PTA is a key partner for continuous school improvement.

To be recognized as a National PTA School of Excellence, PTAs evaluate their current family engagement strategies and submit a goal for school improvement that families, teachers and administrators have set together. They improve upon their family engagement strategies throughout the year, while focusing on their goal. The National PTA School of Excellence designation is awarded to those schools that have demonstrated improvement in the family-school partnership and significant progress toward their goal.

For more information about the National PTA School of Excellence program, visit

Dress Down / Doughnut Day – Thursday September 15th for Everyone!!

14 09 2016

We are SO excited to announce that ALL of our classes brought in 100% (or more) in PTSA memberships.  That means that the entire school gets an extra Dress Down day tomorrow (Thursday 9/15).  The will also get doughnuts in their homeroom.  Thank you to all the students, parents, and everyone else that helped us reach this goal!!

Junior Youth Legislature

28 01 2016

On January 22, twenty-eight Floyd Middle Magnet students participated in the 26th Junior Youth Legislature held at the Alabama State Capitol building where they met with other middle school students from across Alabama. The Floyd students were selected to be in the Senate. They participated in workshops on bill writing and parliamentary procedure in the morning and then debated bills having to do with state laws during the afternoon session. Two of the bills written by Floyd students were debated. Chanice Spicer and Nirea Osborne wrote and presented a bill that would require Alabama to remove the tax on groceries. Jada Burroughs’ and Zaniyah Frazier’s bill would grant paternity to leave for new fathers. After the debate, the Senate voted to pass their bill.

Floyd students were also elected for several offices by the other student senators. Justin An served as Chaplain, Claire Conway as Clerk, Joe Higgins as Floor Leader, and Sherelenthia Brazzley as Pro Temp. Yori Adagunodo, Isabella Baker, Sherelenthia Brazzley, Joe Higgins, Mary Jenkins, and Hannah Thomas were each recognized as an “Outstanding Statesman.”12573118_691989147570947_1197618839717516050_n

Front row from left: Justin An, Kyra Washington, Brianne Therrien, Hailey Lushington, Isabella Baker, Emily Frances Marshall, Mary Jenkins, Jada Burroughs, Harrison Hall, and Yori Adagunodo.

Second row: Nirea Osborne, Chanice Spicer, Emily Willford, Claire Harden, Kerry Anne Straw, Anna Grace Rief, Joe Higgins, Kyle Adams, Lindsey Stewart, Allyson Merriweather, Zaniyah Frazier, Christiana Taylor, and Calvin Clarke.

Third row: Sherlenthia Brazzley, Trey Taylor, Logan Horne, Claire Conway, and Hanah Bloom-Baldwin Middle Magnet.

Not pictured: Hannah Thomas

Sponsors for the group were Mrs. Parks, Mrs. Harrison, and parent Lynn Higgins.

Reflections–County Winners

28 01 2016
Listed below are the Reflections County winners who will be invited to a special
program honoring their accomplishments at the Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts.  The pieces that placed at County level are already at the State level being judged.  Good luck to all our talented students.
2nd Place- Emily Willford
1st Place-Kerry Anne Straw
Honorable Mention- Claire Harden
Honorable Mention-Lauren Bonikowski
Honorable Mention-Haleigh Alexis Huggins
Visual Arts-
Honorable Mention- Payden Alice Smith
1st Place- Jackson Watson
2nd Place- Kerry Anne Straw
3rd Place- Isabelle Goulet

Tennis Champions

6 04 2015

Congratulations to the Floyd MMS Tennis Team! Both the boys and girls are overall City Champions! Daniel Choi, Jacob Moody, Jaline Burt, and Sherlenthia Brazzley also won their individual brackets. Additional team members are Ja’Michael Washington, BJ Mason, Isaac Sansom, Danica Setka, and Hadyn Brewer. Team coaches are David Brown and Diane Prothro.



<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: